The concerts of our 69th season.
Virtual Chamber Music

The Performers

  • Concertmaster David Rubin Violin
  • Oksana Gorokhovskiy Violin
  • Anna Stromer Viola
  • Kett Chuan Lee Cello

The Program

  • Mozart Divertimento, K. 136
  • Still Mother and Child
  • Excerpts from Danish String Quartet Wood Works
  • Holst St. Paul Suite
Special Event

Virtual Chamber Music Concert

As as part of continuing our musical presence in our community during these difficult times, the Cape Ann Symphony is planning a series of “virtual” concerts, performed by small ensembles, and available on line. The Symphony took steps to preserve our fiscal health for the 2020-2021 season, and these small events help our musicians support themselves on a similar footing, as well of keeping you, our loyal audience, engaged and entertained. The first of these concerts is performed by a string quartet, playing these four works:

The word Divertimento is derived from the Italian divertire or “to amuse.” The term is used to describe a wide variety of secular (non-religious) instrumental works for soloist or chamber ensembles. It is usually a kind of musical entertainment. Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart is known for having composed many different types of divertimenti, sometimes even taking the form of a small symphony or sinfonia. Written in three movements, the Allegro introduces a theme which Mozart then develops throughout the three movements. It is subtle in the middle Andante but comes back with gusto in the final Presto. You are bound to smile as you listen to it.

Known as the “Dean of Afro-American Composers,” William Grant Still, Jr. (1895 – 1978) composed nearly 200 works, including five symphonies and nine operas. Still was the first African American to conduct a major American symphony orchestra, the first to have a symphony (his 1st Symphony) performed by a leading orchestra, the first to have an opera performed by a major opera company, and the first to have an opera performed on national television.Still's works were performed internationally by the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra, the London Symphony Orchestra, the Tokyo Philharmonic Orchestra, and the BBC Orchestra. His Mother and Child is the second movement of a suite he wrote in 1943. According to Still, each of the three movements was inspired by three sculptures created by contemporary African-American artists.

The Danish String Quartet “...are first and foremost a classical string quartet, we spend most of our time playing music by masters such as Beethoven and Bartok. Alongside this repertoire though, we’ve been digging into the roots of our local music tradition – Nordic folk music. For us traditional Nordic folk music is unique. It may reflect a different, simpler time, but we find this music incredibly relevant and meaningful to play. In September 2013 we decided to spend a week in the Danish countryside arranging and recording a handful of our favorite tunes. The setup was simple: we had no recording label, no long term plan, and we just barely managed to cover the costs . . . (But) Wood Works became a reality! We have performed the music from Wood Works in venues all over the world, from traditional folk music festivals and alternative clubs to the most distinguished classical venues and concert halls imaginable.”

In the earlier days of his career, Gustav Holst (1874-1934) struggled to earn a living as a full-time composer. In 1904, after holding an array of different teaching positions, he was appointed as Musical Director at St Paul’s Girls’ School in Hammersmith. Luckily for Holst, in 1912 the new music wing of St Paul’s was open for teaching, and the St. Paul’s Suite was the first work to be composed in the room, with the name naturally paying homage to the building that Holst spent a large amount of time in. Arranged for string orchestra, Holst also wrote extra parts in if a full orchestra was necessary at the school. Comprised of four short movements the work is simple, straightforward and pleasing to the ear. Holst, like many of his British contemporaries, took inspiration from British folk songs, with each movement reflecting a different dance, genre or style.


This is a virtual event. Your purchase will provide you with a video download link which you can view at your convenience. It does not expire and there are no restrictions on when you can view the video. However, we ask that you not share the link with others. Thank you!

Our Prices:

  • Video Purchase there is no per-person charge


Make a gift to Cape Ann Symphony.

Thanks to the support of our wonderful community, the Cape Ann Symphony has become one of the premier regional orchestras in the country. You’re helping us keep that legacy strong, and growing! If you would like to add a gift to the Symphony, click one of the buttons below to add a one-time donation to the cart.